Friday, July 19, 2013

Mnet 20's Choice Awards winners revealed

By JONATHAN HICAP, Manila Bulletin
K-pop diva Lee Hyori, 2NE1's CL and bands SHINee and Infinite were among the winners at Mnet's 2013 20's Choice Awards held July 18 at the Korea International Exhibition Center in Ilsan.
This is the seventh year of the awards and the ceremony was hosted by Shinhwa's Minwoo and Jun Jin and Kim Seul-gie.
(Clockwise from top left) Miss A's Suzy, Shinhwa, Infinite, SHINee and 2NE1's CL. (Photos by

Those who qualified for nominations were actors and singers who were active from August 2012 to the first week of June this year.
The criteria used were online votes, 50 percent; 20's poll, 30 percent; and judges' scores, 20 percent, except for the 20's Mwave Global Star Award, which was 100 percent chosen through online fan votes.
SISTAR won the 20's Online Music Award over 4Minute, Girls' Generation, Cho Yong-pil and Lee Hyori.
The 20's Performance Award went to SHINee, which edged out Shinhwa, SISTAR, 4Minute and Girls' Generation.
Shinhwa bagged the 20's Voice Award to beat Psy, Lee Hyori, Cho Yong-pil and SISTAR.
The legendary boy band also won the 20's Mwave Global Star Award over EXO, Super Junior M, 2PM and Infinite.
Hyori took home the 20's Blue Carpet Popularity Award and Icon of 20's Award.
CL grabbed the 20's Style Award over 4Minute, Beenzimo, Kim Wong Jung and Lee Hyori.
"Superstar K4" winner Roy Kim won the 20's Booming Star Award for male while Ha Yeon Soo won the award in the female category.
Roy Kim also won the 20's HOT Cover Music along with Jung Joon Young.
The 20's Hot Band Award went to Daybreak. Other nominees are Romantic Punch, Idiotape and J Rabbit.
VerbalJint scooped the 20's Hot Rapper Award over Baechigi, Beenzino, Double K and Geeks.
Infinite won the 20's 20's Best Global Touring Artist Award.
In the acting category, Lee Jinwook took home the 20's Drama Star Award (male) for "Nine," beating Lee Jong Suk, Zo In Sung, Oh Ji Ho and Lee Seunggi.
Miss A's Suzy won the 20's Drama Star Award (female) for "Gu Family Book," edging out Kim Hey Soo, Song Hye Kyo, Park Boyoung and Soo Ae.
Park Boyoung of "Wolf Boy" won the 20's Movie Star Award (female) over Park Shin Hye, Kong Hyo Jin, Jun Ji Hyun and Kim Min Hee.
Ryu Seung Ryong of "Miracle in Cell No. 7" edged out Kim Soo Hyun, Lee Byung Hun, Ha Jung Woo and Song Joongki to win the 20's Movie Star Award (male).
Shin Dongyup won the 20's Variety Star award.

Link to my original article on Manila Bulletin online:
Email me at sangchusan(at)

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think of this? Post your comment below

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...