Thursday, March 1, 2012

Winners of the 9th Korean Music Awards

By JONATHAN HICAP, Manila Bulletin
MANILA, Philippines – Indie band Jang Kiha and the Faces swept the 9th Korean Music Awards, winning four awards including Album of the Year.
Held on Feb. 29, the Korean Music Awards recognized the musical talent of Korean singers rather than their popularity or album sales.
IU, 2NE1 and Infinite (Photos courtesy of

Most of the winners in last night’s ceremony were indie singers and only three mainstream pop artists won: 2NE1, IU and Infinite.
Besides the Album of the Year, Jang Kiha and the Faces also won the Musician of the Year, Best Rock Song for “That Kind of Relationship” and Best Rock Album for “Jang Kiha and the Faces.”
Solo artist IU won three awards. Her “Good Day” was awarded Song of the Year and Best Pop Song while she also bagged the Netizens’ Award for Best Female Artist.
Girl group 2NE1 won the Best Dance/Electronic Song Award for “I Am The Best” and boy band Infinite won the Netizens’ Award for Best Group Artist.
Lee Seung Yeol won two awards: Best Modern Rock Song for “Not Coming Back” and Best Modern Rock Album for “Why We Fail.”
Idiotape’s “11111101” was adjudged Best Dance/Electronic Album while ByeByeBadMan won Rookie of the Year.
The Best R&B/Soul song and album were awarded to Jung Kigo’s “Blind” and Boni’s “1990,” respectively.
The Best Pop Album Award went to “Seoulight” of Neon Bunny.
Meta & Wrecks’ “Yes, Yes, Ya’ll” won the Best Rap/Hip Hop Song Award while Simo & Mood Schula’s “Simo & Mood Schula” won the Best Rap/Hip Hop Album Award.
The Best Movie/TV Soundtrack Award went to “Late Autumn” and Park Joo Won’s “Sad Fiesta” won the Best Crossover Album Award.
BG Salon won the Best Jazz/Crossover Album and Song Young Joo won the Best Jazz/Crossover Performance Award.
Verbal Jint won the Netizens’ Award for Best Male Artist.

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think of this? Post your comment below

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...