Thursday, October 3, 2013

Winners at the 2013 Korea Drama Awards

By JONATHAN HICAP, Manila Bulletin
Actress Lee Bo Young, who starred in the successful dramas “I Hear Your Voice” and “My Daughter Seo-young,” bagged the daesang, or grand prize, at the 2013 Korea Drama Awards held on Oct. 2 in Jinju City in Gyeongsang, South Korea.
Winners (from left) Lee Jung-jin, Lee Jong Suk, Lee Bo Young and Jo Yoon-hee (Photos by

This is the sixth year of the Korea Drama Awards, which recognized outstanding dramas and performance in the past year.
Lee Bo Young edged out Lee Jin Wook of “Nine,” Go Hyun Jung of “The Queen’s Classroom,” Kim Hye Soo of “Queen of the Place” and Song Hye Kyo of “The Winter the Wind Blows.”
The Best Drama award went to “My Daughter Seo-young.” Other finalists were “I Hear Your Voice,” “The Queen of Office,” “Good Doctor” and “Childless Comfort.”
Jo Soo Won of “I Hear Your Voice” won the Best Director while Par Jae Bum won Best Writer for “Good Doctor.”
Jung Woong-in of “I Hear Your Voice” and Lee Jung-jin of “A Hundred Year’s Inheritance” won the Top Excellence Actor awards. Other nominees are Lee Seunggi of “Gu Family Book” and Joo Won and Joo Sang Wook of “Good Doctor.”
Jo Yoon-hee of “Nine” brought home the Top Excellence Actress award. She won the award against Lee Yo Won of “Empire of Gold,” Gong Hyo Jin of “The Master’s Sun,” Lee Mi Sook of “You’re the Best Lee Soon Shin” and Moon Chae Woon of “Good Doctor.”
Popular actor Lee Jong Suk of “I Hear Your Voice” and Kim Dong Wan of “Cheer Up Mr. Kim” won the excellence actor. Other nominees were Kim Kwang Gyu of “The Queen of Office,” Yun Woo Jin of “When A Man Loves” and Lee Sang Yoon of “My Daughter Seo-young.”
Seo Hyun-jin of “Oh Ja Ryong if Coming” won the Excellence Actress award over Eugene of “A Hundred Year’s Inheritance,” IU of “You’re the Best Lee Soon Shin,” Suzy of “Gu Family Book,” Lee Da-hee of “I Hear Your Voice” and Soo Ae of “Queen of Ambition.”
The Best New Actor awards went to Jun-hyung of BEAST for “Monstar” and Park Seo Joon of “Pots of Gold.” Other finalists were Kim Woon Bin for “School 2013,” Lee Jung Shin for “My Daughter Seo-young” and Doojoon of BEAST for “IRIS 2.”
K-pop star BoA won the Best New Actress for “Hope for Love,” edging out Han Yeo Seo of “Monstar,” Kyung Soo Jin of “Eun Hee,” Son Na Eun of “Childless Comfort” and Choi Soo Young of “Cyrano Dating Agency.”
Lee Jong Suk and Lee Bo Young won the Best Couple award for “I Hear Your Voice” while Kal So Won of “Birth Secret” won as Best Child Actor.
The Best Original Soundtrack went to 4Men’s “Only You” for “Gu Family Book.”
Link to my original article on Manila Bulletin online
To contact the author, send email to sangchusan(at)

Don't miss any updates. Subscribe to this blog, add me to your Google+ circle or click the Google Friend Connect on the sidebar

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think of this? Post your comment below

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...