Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Super Junior Bags Grand Prize Anew At 27th Golden Disk Awards

By JONATHAN HICAP, Manila Bulletin
MANILA, Philippines - Korean boy band Super Junior won the Disk Daesang, or album of the year, on the first day of the 27th Golden Disk Awards held on Jan. 15 at the Sepang International Circuit in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Super Junior won the grand prize for their sixth album "Sexy, Free & Single." The award was based on album sales and ratings from judges.
Super Junior (top) and FNC Entertainment artists FT Island, CN Blue and Juniel
(Photos courtesy of and CNBlue_4 on Twitter)

This is the third time and second year in a row that the boy band won the award. Last year, Super Junior won the Disk Daesang for their fifth album "Mr. Simple."
In 2009, they won their first Disk Daesang for the album "Sorry Sorry."
Super Junior's "Sexy, Free & Single" also won the MSN Southeast Asia Award, selected in an online poll by MSN users across Southeast Asia.
Nine top artists were also awarded with Disk Bonsang. They are Super Junior, 4Minute, B1A4, BEAST, CN Blue, FT Island, KARA and SHINee.
The New Rising Star Award went to EXO-K and Juniel while BTOB won the Next Generation Star Award.
Trouble Maker, composed of 4Minute's Hyuna and BEAST's Hyun-seung, won the Best Dance Performance Award. Infinite won the Best Group Performance Award.
Malaysia's Most Favorite Star Awards went to CN Blue and KARA.
BEAST won the JTBC Best Artist Award while SHINee won the Popularity Award.
FNC Entertainment, which manages FT Island and CN Blue, won the Producer Award.
The first day of the awards was for album winners. The second day of the awards will be held tonight to honor awardees in digital music.
Link to my original article on Manila Bulletin online:
Email me at sangchusan(at)

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think of this? Post your comment below

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...