Friday, January 17, 2014

Winners at the 28th Golden Disk Awards

By JONATHAN HICAP, Manila Bulletin
Korean rapper Psy and boy band EXO bagged the most-prized trophies at the 28th Golden Disk Awards held on Jan. 16 at the Kyunghee University’s Grand Peace Palace.
Psy took home the Digital Daesang, or Song of the Year, for “Gentleman,” his follow-up track to his viral hit “Gangnam Style.”
(Clockwise from top left) Psy with SHINee’s Minho, EXO, BEAST, SHINee and Girls’ Generation’s Taeyeon and Tiffany. (Photos courtesy of, and No Cut News)

This is the second year in a row that the rapper took home the grand prize. Last year, he won the award for “Gangnam Style.”
Twelve-member EXO took home the Disk Daesang, or Album of the Year, for their smash hit “XOXO.”
The award is an incredible feat for EXO, which won the new artist award in last year’s ceremony.
Last year, Super Junior took home the Album of the Year award.
Eight artists were honored with the Disk Bonsang. They are Girls’ Generation, EXO, B1A4, f(x), Infinite, BEAST, Cho Yong Pil and SHINee.
The Digital Bonsang winners are CNBLUE, 2NE1, SISTAR, Ailee, A Pink, Davichi, 4Minute and Lee Seung Chul.
The New Rising Star awards went to Roy Kim and BTS for the album division, and Crayon Pop and Lim Kim for the song division.
Girls’ Generation and Roy Kim won the Popularity Awards for song while SHINee and BEAST won the same award for album.
The Hip Hop Award went to Baechigi.
Other winners are:
Goodwill Star Award – CNBLUE
Producer of the Year – Hong Seung Sung, CEO of Cube Entertainment
Ceci Asia Icon Award – SHINee and SISTAR
Executive Committee Special Award – Jeon In Kwon

Link to my original article on Manila Bulletin online:

 To contact the author, send email to sangchusan(at)

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think of this? Post your comment below

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...