Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Winners at 48th Baeksang Arts Awards

By JONATHAN HICAP, Manila Bulletin
MANILA, Philippines – Korean dramas “Tree with Deep Roots” and “The Moon that Embraces the Sun” won top honors along with films “Nameless Gangster” and “Unbowed” at the 48th Baeksang Arts Awards held April 26.
The awards ceremony, held at the Seoul Olympic Hall, honored excellence in films and TV in Korea.
Winners in the Baeksang Arts Awards. (Photos by

In the TV category, "Tree with Deep Roots" won the daesang, or grand prize, while "The Moon that Embraces the Sun," which was No. 1 in the ratings during its airing, was named best Korean drama.
Kim Soo Hyun, who portrayed the king in "The Moon that Embraces the Sun," won as best actor, edging out Han Suk Kyu, Park Shi Hoo, Shin Ha Kyun and Cha Seung Won.
For best actress, Gong Hyo-jin of "The Best Love" won the prize over Kim Sun-ah, Kim Hyun-joo, Moon Chae-won and Soo Ae.
On the other hand, Joo Won was named best new actor while Uee, member of K-pop group After School, won as best new actress.
Park Yoochun, member of boy band JYJ, won as popular actor for "Miss Ripley" along with Park Shin Hye who won as popular actress for "You've Fallen for Me."
In the film category, "Nameless Gangster," which sold 4.6 million movie tickets during its run this year, won the daesang. "Unbowed," which was also shown in the 2011 Busan International Film Festival, was named best film.
Ahn Sung-ki, who portrayed the professor in "Unbowed," won as best  actor while Uhm Jung-hwa, who starred in "Dancing Queen," was named best actress.
The best new actor and actress awards went to Park Sung-kyun for "Nameless Gangster" and Suzy, member of K-pop group miss A, for "Introduction to Architecture."
Jang Geun-suk and Kang So-ra won as popular film actor and actress.
Here's the complete list of winners at the 48th Baeksang Arts Awards:
Daesang (Grand Prize): "Tree With Deep Roots"
Best Drama: "The Moon That Embraces the Sun"
Best Actor: Kim Soo-hyun ("The Moon That Embraces the Sun")
Best Actress: Gong Hyo-jin ("The Best Love")
Best New Actor: Joo Won ("Ojakkyo Brothers")
Best New Actress: Uee ("Ojakkyo Brothers")
Popular  Actor: Park Yoochun ("Miss Ripley")
Popular Actress: Park Shin Hye ("You’ve Fallen For Me")
Best Director: Kim Jung-min and Park Hyeon Seok for "The Princess’s Man"
Scriptwriting: Kim Young-hyun and Park Sang-yeon for "Tree With Deep Roots"
Best Variety Program: Gag Concert
Best Male Performer, Variety:  Kim Joon-hyun ("Gag Concert")
Best Female Performer, Variety: Park Ha-sun ("High Kick: Counterattack of the Short Legs")

Daesang (Grand Prize): "Nameless Gangster"
Best Film: "Unbowed"
Best Actor: Ahn Sung-ki ("Unbowed")
Best Actress: Uhm Jung-hwa ("Dancing Queen")
Best New Actor: Kim Sung-kyun ("Nameless Gangster")
New Actress: Suzy ("Introduction to Architecture")
Best Director: Byun Young-joo for "Helpless"
Best New Director: Im Chan-ik for "Arrest King"
Screenplay: Jeon Kye-soo for "Love Fiction"
Popular Actor: Jang Geun Suk ("You’re My Pet")
Popular Actress: Kang So-ra ("Sunny")

Link to my original article:

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think of this? Post your comment below

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...