Tuesday, June 25, 2013

2PM, Big Bang triumph at MTV VMAJ 2013

By JONATHAN HICAP, Manila Bulletin
K-pop boy bands Big Bang and 2PM won at the MTV Video Music Awards Japan 2013, which was held at the Makuhari Messe in Chiba Prefecture, Japan, on June 22.
2PM bagged the Album of the Year award for "Legend of 2PM," the band's second Japanese album which was released last February.
2PM and Big Bang (Photos courtesy of www.newsen.com and Big Bang's Facebook page)

The group won the award against Carly Rae Jepsen's "Kiss," One Direction's "Take Me Home," Linkin Park's "Living Things" and Kana Nishino's "Love Place."
2PM members were unable to attend the awards ceremony as they held the grand finale of their "What Time Is It?" concert tour in Seoul on June 21 and 22.
Big Bang won the Best Dance Video for "Fantastic Baby" over Group_inou's "9," Livetune adding Megumi Nakajima's "Transfer," Skrillex's "Bangarang" and Zedd's "Spectrum" (featuring Matthew Koma).
Japanese group EXILE TRIBE won the Best Vide of the Year for “24karats TRIBE OF GOLD.” Other nominees in the category were Namie Amuro - “In The Spotlight (TOKYO) (from ALBUM "Uncontrolled")”; Bruno Mars - “Locked Out of Heaven;” Mr. Children - “Marshmallow Day” and MUSE - “Follow Me (Tekken Version).” The group, however, was unable to attend the awards ceremony.
EXILE ATSUSHI bagged the Best Male Video for "Melrose" while Kana Nishino won Best Female Video for "Always."
The Best Group Video went to J Soul Brothers III's "Hanabi."
Carly Rae Jepsen won the Best New Artist Video for "Call Me Maybe." The pop star attended the ceremony and performed "Tonight I'm Getting Over You" and "Call Me Maybe." She was joined on stage by Momoiro Clover Z.
All-girl Momoiro Clover Z opened the show with "Overture~Momoiro Clover Z on stage!!" and "Good-bye, Dear Sorrows."
J-pop princess Kana Nishino also performed along with Imagine Dragongs, TLC, BENI, Miho Fukuhara, Miliyah Kato and Shota Shimizu, Shonannokaze and VAMPS.
K-pop group KARA's Nicole sang "Lost."
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu wrapped up the show by performing "Invader Invader" and "Ninjari Bang Bang."
Celebrities guests who attended the MTV VMAJ 2013 included AK-69, AMIAYA, Ayame Goriki, DJ KAORI, Dream, JOY, Kerakera, Kiko Mizuhara, Louis Kurihara, Negoto, Tomomi Kahara and Zeebra.

Here's the complete list of winners at the MTV VMAJ 2013:
Best Female Video - Kana Nishino “Always”
Best Group Video - J Soul Brothers III “Hanabi”
Best New Artist Video - CARLY RAE JEPSEN “Call Me Maybe”
Best Video of the Year - EXILE TRIBE “24karats TRIBE OF GOLD”
Best Rock Video - ONE OK ROCK “The Beginning”
Best Pop Video - Kyary Pamyu Pamyu - “Fashion Monster”
Best R&B Video - MILIYAH KATO - “LOVERS partII feat.waka-danna”
Best Hip Hop Video - A$AP ROCKY - “F**kin' Problems feat. DRAKE, 2 CHAINZ & KENDRICK LAMAR”
Best Reggae Video - lecca - “Clown Love”
Best Dance Video - Big Bang - “FANTASTIC BABY -Ver. Final“
Best Video from a Film - ONE OK ROCK - “The Beginning” from “Rurouni Kenshin”
Best Collaboration Video - MIYAVI vs YUKSEK - “DAY 1”
Best Album of the Year - 2PM - “Legend of 2PM”
Best Karaokee! Song - Kyary Pamyu Pamyu - “Fashion Monster”
Best Choreography - Momoiro Clover Z - “Saraba, Itoshiki Kanashimitachiyo”

Link to my original article on Manila Bulletin online:
Email me at sangchusan(at)gmail.com

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think of this? Post your comment below

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...