Friday, February 1, 2013

Winners At The 22nd Seoul Music Awards

By JONATHAN HICAP, Manila Bulletin

MANILA, Philippines - K-pop stars attended the 22nd Seoul Music Awards held last night at the SK Olympic Handball Stadium in Seoul.
Psy won the daesang, or grand prize, but he was unable to attend the awards ceremony due to his busy schedule.
Epik High's Tablo received the award on his behalf. Psy instead sent a video message to thank the organizers for the award, his agency and family. Last year, Super Junior won the daesang.

Winners (from left) SHINee, Super Junior, Lee Seung Gi and Big Bang
(Photos courtesy of
The daesang winner was chosen from the 12 winners of the bonsang, or main prize, announced during the ceremony.
The winners of the bonsang are Big Bang, Super Junior, SHINee, 2NE1, f(x), Psy, SISTAR, Epik High, Huh Gak, Lee Seung Gi, miss A and Secret.
Super Junior was also awarded the Hallyu Special Award.
The bonsang was based on digital and album sales, online voting, research and votes by a panel of judges.
G-Dragon won the Record of the Year for "One of a Kind," his first mini-album released in September last year. The album topped music charts in Korea and entered the Billboard 200.
SISTAR won the Digital Record of the Year for "Alone," the group's first mini-album released last April.
K.Will bagged the R&B/Ballad Award while Double K won the Hip Hop/Rap Award.
CN Blue's Jonghyun took home the Best OST Award.
The Best New Artist Award went to boy bands EXO-K and BAP and solo singers Lee Hi and Ailee.
Kim Jang Hoon won the Performance Culture Award.
SHINee and Lee Seung Gi were awarded the High1/Mobile Popularity Award.
The 22nd Seoul Music Awards was organized by Sports Seoul and High1 Resort and sponsored by the Visit Korea Committee, Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism, KBSN, KBS Joy, KBS drama and KBS W.
Link to my original article on Manila Bulletin online:

Email me at sangchusan(at)

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think of this? Post your comment below

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...