Thursday, February 27, 2014

Choi Ji Woo signs with YG Entertainment

By JONATHAN HICAP, Manila Bulletin
Top Korean actress Choi Ji Woo, credited for popularizing hallyu (Korean Wave) in Japan, the Philippines and other parts of Asia through her dramas, “Winter Sonata (2002)” and “Stairway To Heaven (2003),” has signed an exclusive contract with YG Entertainment. She joins the agency’s huge stable of talents that includes actors Cha Seung Won, Im Ye Jin, Jang Hyun Sung, Jeong Hye Young, Ku Hye Sun and Yoo In Na.
Korean actress Choi Ji Woo (

YG Entertainment says their contract with the 38-year-old Choi is a “win-win deal.”
“Signing contracts with top Korean Wave stars like Choi Ji Woo, following Cha Seung WOn, Jang Hyun Sung and Im Ye Jin, we will be able to strengthen the actor management field,” said YG Entertainment in a post.
It added that the move is “an opportunity for Choi to make a leap forward as an actor with the support of YG, through the agency’s brand power, and systematic and globalized management.”
The agency said under its company, Choi will be “positioning herself as the queen of Korean Wave, as she actively carried out her work in Asia through modeling for a Japanese tourism company HIS, Japanese Lotte, and starring in a Chinese drama ‘City of Lovers.’”
Choi hasn’t had a hit Korean drama in the last few years.
The romantic comedy “Can’t Lose,” which she starred in with actor Yoon Sang-hyun in 2011, garnered single-digit ratings during its run.
Last year, Choi Ji Woo headlined “The Suspicious Housekeeper,” which received an average rating of 8 percent. The series’ final episode got 9.6 percent based on TNmS Korea and 10.3 percent, according to AGB Nielsen Korea.
YG Entertainment maintains that Choi is still very much in demand in Japan and China.
“Choi is indeed one of the top South Korean stars, who is equipped with everything from impressive acting, attractive appearance and very unique charms,” the agency said.
Before joining YG Entertainment, Choi set up her own agency called CJW Entertainment in 2009, whose roster includes Lee Moo Saeng, Song Min Ji, Lee Eun Bin and Ban So Young.
Link to my original article on Manila Bulletin online:

To contact the author, send email to sangchusan(at)

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think of this? Post your comment below

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...