Thursday, February 6, 2014

Korean Music Awards 2014 nominees released

By JONATHAN HICAP, Manila Bulletin
Organizers of the 11th Korean Music Awards released the list of nominees for this year and non-mainstream artists dominated the different categories.
The Korean Music Awards recognizes talent than popularity or album sales, paving way for independent singers to be acknowledged.
(Clockwise from top) SHINee, EXO, f(x) and G-Dragon
(Photos from official Facebook pages of SHINee, EXO, f(x) and G-Dragon)

In the Album of the Year, the nominees are Youn Sun Nah’s “Lento,” Sunwoo Jung-A’s “It’s Okay, Dear,” Yoon Young Bae’s “Dangerous World,” Yi Sung Yol’s “V” and Jang Pil Soon’s “Soony Seven.”
EXO’s hit single “Growl” is nominated for Song of the Year along with Cho Yong Pil’s “Bounce,” Crayon Pop’s “Bar Bar Bar,” Yoon Young Bae’s “Dangerous World” and Jang Pil Soon’s “Maemmaem.”
Cho Yong Pil led the nominees for the Artist of the Year along with Youn Sun Nah, Yellow Monsters, Sunwoo Jung-A, Yi Sung Yol and Jang Pil Soon.
In the New Artist of the Year, the nominees are EXO, Zion T, Lim Kim, Oki Kim and Rock ‘N Roll Radio.
Nominees for the Best Dance & Electronic Album are f(x)’s “Pink Tape,” SHINee’s “The Misconceptions of Us,” Glen Check’s “Youth” and Sultan of the Disco’s “The Golden Age.”
G-Dragon is nominated for Best Dance & Electronic Song along with EXO’s “Growl,” f(x)’s Rum Pum Pum Pum,” 4Minute’s “What’s Your Name?,” Crayon Pop’s “Bar Bar Bar”and Glen Check’s “Pacific.”
“K-pop Star Season 1″ runner-up Lee Hi’s “First Love” is nominated in the Best R&B and Soul Album together with Zion T’s “Red Light,” Jinbo’s “Fantasy,” Mayson The Soul’s “Jackasoul” and Soulciety’s “Diamonds.”
Lee Hi’s “It’s Over” is competing in the Best R&B and Soul Song against Jinbo’s “Fantasy,” Zion T’s “Two Melodies” (featuring Crush), Mayson The Soul’s “Holiday” (featuring Beenzino) and Soulciety’s “Always” (featuring Nam Ju Hee).
In the Best Rock Album category, the nominees are Yellow Monsters’ “Red Flag,” Kim Tae Chun’s “Animal Hospital Blues,” Vassline’s “Black Silence,” Third Stone’s – “Psychemoon,” Kim Dae Joong’s “Seedless Watermelon” and Asian Chairshot’s “Mask.”
The awarding ceremony will be held on Feb. 28 at the Yes24 Muv Hall in Seoul.
Link to my original article on Manila Bulletin online:

To contact the author, send email to sangchusan(at)

No comments:

Post a Comment

What do you think of this? Post your comment below

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...